The Scotiabank Giller Prize shortlist!

September was a big month for literary awards.  England’s Man Booker shortlist and Canada’s Scotiabank Giller shortlist have been announced.  The Scotiabank Giller Prize is open to Canadian authors and the winner will be awarded $50,000 while each shortlisted finalist will receive $5,000. This is the Giller’s 17th year in existence and for the second time in Giller history, two non-Canadian jurors have been selected.  American professor and author Claire Messud and UK writer Ali Smith join Canadian journalist and broadcaster, Michael Enright.  For over the six months the jurors have read and re-read over 98 titles before settling on this year’s nominees. The winner will be announced on Tuesday, November 9th at a Gala in Toronto.

Who do you think will win?

Enter our contest with your suggestions! Every entry will receive a $5.00 gift coupon for any Bookclub-in-a-Box product.  A special Giller draw will be held on Tuesday, November 9th.  If your guess matches the winning book, we will send you our unique Bookclub-in-a-Box coffee mug.  That way you can enjoy a hot drink while reading your novel.

See below for the complete list of nominees, which includes Douglas Coupland who partook in a documentary  produced by Rob Cohen entitled Souvenir of Canada.  Come see Rob Cohen speak about his film at the Bookclub-in-a-Box activity centre on November 18th 2010.

David Bergen The Matter With Morris, Phyllis Bruce Books/Harper Collins Publishers Ltd. (SHORTLISTED)

Douglas Coupland Player One, House of Anansi Press

Michael Helm Cities of Refuge, McClelland & Stewart

Alexander MacLeod Light Lifting, Biblioasis (SHORTLISTED)

Avner Mandelman The Debba, Other Press/Random House of Canada

Tom Rachman The Imperfectionists, The Dial Press/Random House of Canada

Sarah Selecky The Cake is for the Party, Thomas Allen Publishers (SHORTLISTED)

Johanna Skibsrud The Sentimentalists, Gaspereau Press (SHORTLISTED)

Cordelia Strube Lemon , Coach House Books

Joan Thomas Curiosity, McClelland & Stewart

Jane Urquhart Sanctuary Line, McClelland & Stewart

Dianne Warren Cool Water, Phyllis Bruce Books/Harper Collins Publishers Ltd.

Kathleen Winter Annabel, House of Anansi Press (SHORTLISTED)

While 9 out of the 13 authors are first time nominees, there are some returning veterans. Michael Helm was shortlisted for The Projectionist in 1997. Douglas Coupland was long-listed in 2006 for JPod, a novel that was subsequently turned into a television series.  David Bergen is a former Giller Prize winner.  In 2005 he won with his novel The Time in Between.  He was also long-listed in 2008 for The Retreat.  The nominee who is perhaps the most acquainted with the Giller prize is former Giller jury member Jane Urquhart.  She has judged alongside Mordecai Richler in 1995 and Margaret Atwood in 2000.  In 2001 she was shortlisted for her novel The Stone Carvers.

Who do you think will win the big prize?

This entry was posted in Reading News. Bookmark the permalink.

Comments are closed.

Subscribe to
Our Newsletter

Receive HTML?

Recent Posts

Buy our new discussion guide to Sue Monk Kidd’s The Invention of Wings

Sue Monk Kidd's touching novel The Invention of Wings, which debuted at No. 1 on the New York Times bestseller list, is ...

Q&A with Carolyn Taylor-Watts, author of Helena: An Odyssey

Carolyn Taylor-Watts grew up in New Zealand and started out her career there as a registered nurse, but she has now esta ...

Bookclub-in-a-Box’s 2015 summer must-read list

This Sunday marks the first official day of summer, and we’re already stacking a lot of books up on our to-read pile. ...

Spring sale: save 25% off all Bookclub-in-a-Box discussion guides until April 2

Spring has arrived at long last, and you can now save 25% off every one of our Bookclub-in-a-Box discussion guides, ...

Dinner and a show: An exclusive offer from Tarragon Theatre and Bookclub-in-a-Box

Enter the contest: Win two tickets to Tarragon Theatre’s poetic thriller Abyss, for any performance between Feb. 12 an ...